Print this page

Ascend’s Chocolate Bayou facility earns two more prestigious safety awards

Ascend Performance Materials’ Chocolate Bayou plant received the Distinguished Safety Service and the Caring for Texas awards at the 2017 Texas Chemical Council Awards Banquet.

Awarded based on facility size, the Distinguished Safety Service award recognizes a site’s exceptional safety record and commitment to safe operations. To earn the award, a facility must exhibit a best-in-class safety record and participate in site-wide and community safety programs.

Ascend’s Chocolate Bayou plant participates in a number of safety programs, including the Texas Chemical Council’s Occupational Safety Committee, several emergency response initiatives and a proactive substance-free workplace program. Chocolate Bayou also had a three-year OSHA total recordable incident rate of 0.31, well below the average of 0.41 for similarly-sized facilities considered for this award.

The Caring for Texas award is given to Texas Chemical Council member facilities engaged in community awareness, emergency response and pollution prevention. Chocolate Bayou was designated an Excellence in Caring for Texas facility by a panel of peer and community judges.

“Safety is an important part of our work at Chocolate Bayou because we recognize that it affects our employees, their families and the broader community,” said Lynda Green, Ascend’s senior manager for environment, safety, security and health at Chocolate Bayou. “It is an honor and a point of pride to be recognized for our commitment to safe operations.”

“While the reward for safety is the health and well-being of everyone who steps foot on our site, the Texas Chemical Council’s award means a lot to us,” said Paul Cartlidge, site director at Chocolate Bayou. “Safety is not a single thing or any one person’s responsibility. This award is recognition that our combined efforts make Chocolate Bayou a safe workplace and part of the community.”

The Chocolate Bayou facility was also awarded the OSHA VPP Region VI Star of Excellence award for the fourth consecutive year in May.